This Will Never Work

2013 Annual Juried Exhibition and Screening

This Will Never Work

Opening Reception: Friday, November 22, 2013, 7:00 – 10:00 PM
Screening: Friday, December 6, 2013, 7:00 PM
Exhibition on View: November 22 – December 14, 2013
Gallery Hours: Tuesday – Saturday, 12:00 – 6:00 PM

Selected Exhibition Artists: Calen Barca-Hall, Alexis Alicette Bolter, Jessica Cadkin, Abigail Clark, Randy Colosky, Scott Constable/Wowhaus, Ilana Crispi, Gabriel Edwards, Emily Alden Foster, Rebecca Foster, Steven Froman, Anna Fryer, Mark M. Garrett, Christie George, Michael Goldman, Jon Gourley, Daniel Green, Jenna Hanson, Aaron Harbour, Jamil Hellu, Patrick Hillman, Clint Imboden, Mark Johnsen, Todd Lavine, Meredith Leich, Jennie Lennick, Kristina Lewis, Bernie Lubell, Martin Machado, Tatum Mangus, Nicole Markoff, Travis McFlynn, Sam Metcalf, Olivia Mole, Alex Molinari, Christie Yuri Noh, Erik Parra, Sarah Patten, Noah Ptolemy, Lucca Raventinkie, Jenny Sharaf, James Sinclair, Isabelle Smeall, Larry Stefl, Chris Thorson, Paul Urich, Diego Villalobos, May Wilson

Selected Screening Artists: Calen Barca-Hall, Janice Ahn, Bae Hyun Ji, Zack Eastburg, Yoon Sun Lee, Tommy Becker, Bryan Boyce, Ivan Cash, Joseph Dwyer, Gözde Efe, Omer Gal, Heejin Jang, Justin Kohlberg, Sheila Lam, Meredith Leich, Erica Molesworth, Takeshi Moro, Lizzy Myers, Alex Nichols, Edward Setina

Southern Exposure is pleased to announce This Will Never Work, the organization's 2013 Entry-Fee-Free Juried Exhibition and Screening of Works by Northern California Artists. This annual event is the premier showcase of contemporary artwork by promising local talent. With a different open-ended theme each year, artists are encouraged to pursue a broad range of artistic expression across media.

This Will Never Work features crazy experiments, doomed plans and quixotic dreams. The artists are all from Northern California, north of King City and south of the Oregon border. Corrina Peipon and screening juror Mary Magsamen selected the works by blind process. For many of the artists selected, this is their first major exhibition and a vital step forward in their art careers.

About the Jurors

Corrina Peipon is an artist, curator and writer living in Los Angeles. As Assistant Curator at the Hammer Museum, she has organized one-person exhibitions with Carlos Bunga, Maya Hayuk, Alex Hubbard, T. Kelly Mason, Lucy Raven and Jonas Wood, as well as several exhibitions from the Hammer Contemporary Collection. During her tenure at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, she organized Index: Conceptualism in California from the Permanent Collection, a survey of nearly two hundred works from the museum's significant holdings. In 1998, her own artwork was included in Southern Exposure's annual juried exhibition, Nothing But Time.

Mary Magsamen is an artist, curator and educator with a specialty in film/video and interdisciplinary practices. She received a MFA from Cranbrook Academy of Art. In 2008 Mary joined Aurora Picture Show as the curator. Aurora Picture Show is a non-profit media arts center in Houston, Texas that presents artist-made, non-commercial film and video. Mary is also a practicing artist and collaborates with her husband as Hillerbrand+Magsamen.