Closing Reception for Declarations for the New Year

Button declarations by various artists, designed by Tiffanie Tran. Photo by Matt Shapiro.

Closing Reception for Declarations for the New Year

January 30, 2016
7:00 – 9:00 PM

Join us to mark the closing of Declarations for the New Year, and pick up a copy of your favorite provocation in the form of a poster, postcard, or button!

Declarations for the New Year is organized by Southern Exposure and Related Tactics Collective (Michele Carlson, Weston Teruya, and Nate Watson). The exhibition invites 40 artists, writers, cultural producers, and civic-minded instigators to make short declarations or calls to action for 2016, manifested in four separate forms – posters designed by Shawn Tamaribuchi, postcards, buttons, and radical mapping. Audiences may take away these messages as provocations or reminders to post at home, send to a friend, and wear on their body. With this gathering of provocations, we aim to spark a dialogue to carry us forward in the coming year.

Participating artists: Eliza O. Barrios, Jason Bayani, Congratulations Pine Tree, Jaime Cortez, Katie Dorame, Rodney Ewing, Cristal Fiel, Jacqueline Francis, Taraneh Hemami, Cliff Hengst, Angela Hennessy, Mei-ling Humphrey, Gisela Insuaste, Ernest Jolly, Nia King, John Jota Leaños, Kapiʻolani Lee, Rhiannon MacFadyen, Vero Majano, Michelada Think Tank, Omar Mismar, Channing Morgan, Mia Nakano, People's Kitchen (Sita Kuratomi Bhaumik, Jocelyn Jackson, and Saqib Keval), Queer Rebel Productions, Jerome Reyes, Maryam Rostami, Surabhi Saraf, Malik Shabazz, Pallavi Sharma, Bayeté Ross Smith, SOMA Pilipinas, Southern Exposure Youth Advisory Board, Truong Tran, Elizabeth Travelslight, Chris E. Vargas, Anuradha Vikram, Leila Weefur, Imin Yeh, and Lehua Yim.