view calendar
loading image

Announcing Liz Magic Laser as the 2012 recipient of The SoEx Off-Site Graue Award

Southern Exposure is pleased to announce Liz Magic Laser as the 2012 recipient of The SoEx Off-Site Graue Award, a commission opportunity for artists to realize new public art projects in the Bay Area. Liz Magic Laser will present a new performative project as a part of Living Newspaper, a longer-term exploration that seeks to investigate and alter the relationship between the news media and the public. Expanding upon themes explored in her emerging Living Newspaper series, and drawing upon the Bay Area’s history of street theater, Laser will create a new public project that will incorporate live on-the-street performance, installation, publication, and participatory actions. The project will be presented in San Francisco in late 2013.

About the Graue Award
In 2009, The Graue Family Foundation invested in Southern Exposure’s growing public art initative, SoEx Off-Site, through the creation of The Graue Award. The award offers an opportunity for local, national, and international artists to propose ideas leading to the development and presentation of an ambitious public art project in the San Francisco Bay Area. In 2011, the Graue Award funded Manifest Destiny!, a SoEx Off-Site public project by Jenny Chapman and Mark A Reigelman II that was on view in downtown San Francisco from November 2011 through October 2012.

About SoEx Off-Site
Founded in 2005, SoEx Off-Site seeks to commission and present new work by emerging artists that intervenes and interacts in the social and political spheres beyond the space of gallery. SoEx supports and encourages these practices as few venues support emerging artists working in the public realm. Through SoEx Off-Site, Southern Exposure has commissioned and presented public projects from a wide range of artists including Neighborhood Public Radio, Lee Walton, Glowlab, Kate Pocrass/Mundane Journeys, The San Francisco Bureau of Urban Secrets, Red76, Instant Coffee, Packard Jennings, Natalie Jeremijenko, Futurefarmers, Rebar, Preemptive Media, Bruce Tomb, Christian Nold, Jenny Chapman and Mark A Reigelman II, and more.