view calendar
loading image

Southern Exposure's Entry-Fee Free Juried Exhibition

September 16, 2011 - October 8, 2011

Southern Exposure’s Entry-Fee Free Juried Exhibition of work by Northern California Artists
Juror: Denise Markonish, Curator at Mass MoCa

Exhibition Dates: September 16 - October 8, 2011
Opening Reception: Friday, September 16, 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Gallery Hours: Tuesday - Saturday, 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Ulrika Andersson
Alexis Arnold
Johnna Arnold
Art for a Democratic Society
Joshua Band
Anna Bihari
Amanda Boe
Susan Chen
Kimberly Cook
Rachel Dawson
Sara Diamond
Mendoza Dio
Rachel E Foster
Johanna Friedman
Jon Gourley
Nicole Hayden
I, Daughter of Kong Center for Research
Kelly Falzone Inouye
Jesse Kauppila
Joanna Kidd
Joshua Kim
Robert Larkin
Phillip Maisel
Summer Mei Ling Lee
Ali Liebegott
Niana Liu
Jeanne Lorenz
Atsuko Morita
Kate Nartker
Fred Nocella
Christian Oittinen
Sandra Osborne
Matthew Pawlowski
Michelle Ramin
Rachelle Reichert
Neil Rivas
Jeremy Roberts
Ida Rödén
Leah Rosenberg
Some Guy
Lorna Stevens
Ruth Tabancay
Sunaura Taylor
Chris Thorson
Thomas Wing
Ryan Wylie

Southern Exposure’s juried exhibition has become the premier showcase of contemporary artwork by promising local talent. Each year a different theme is selected to inspire and encourage a broad level of artistic expression. Proof, the theme for the 2011 Juried Exhibition, is intended to inspire and encourage a broad level of creative response. Artists are invited to submit work that responds to this theme in some way, shape or form. The theme and media are left open to the artists' interpretation in hopes that the work is conceptually and aesthetically diverse, drawing from as many insights and forms of creativity as possible.

Unlike many open calls for work that charge a submission fee, Southern Exposure's juried exhibition does not require artists to pay to enter their work. The exhibition is open to any artist living in Northern California north of King City and south of the Oregon border. Over the course of two days, over 500 Northern Californian artists enter their work, attesting to the extreme popularity of the show. The final pieces are selected by juror, Denise Markonish, who makes her decisions by blind process. For many of the artists selected, this is their first major exhibition and an important step in advancing their career.

A 20-Year History of Southern Exposure’s Juried Program, 1991-2011
Proof marks the 20th Anniversary of SoEx's Juried Program series. Since 1991, SoEx has presented the work of more than 1200 artists through 18 juried exhibitions, 6 juried screenings, 2 juried public art days, and 15 related events, talks and performances. 20 years later, SoEx shares the history of this seminal series. Brian Scott of Boon Design has created a gorgeous poster and installation in commemoration. Free copies will be available to all gallery visitors, first come first served.

SoEx invites all the many artists who have been a part of this program over the years to join us for the Opening Reception on Friday, September 16, 2011, from 6 - 9 pm.

Denise Markonish, Curator at Mass MoCA Denise Markonish is a curator at MASS MoCA where she has organized the exhibitions Nari Ward: Sub Mirage Lignum; Petah Coyne: Everything That Rises Must Converge; Inigo Manglano-Ovalle: Gravity is a force to be reckoned with; These Days: Elegies for Modern Times; and Badlands: New Horizons in Landscape. She has produced several catalogs and books including Sol LeWitt: 100 Views, which she co-edited with Susan Cross. Previous to her work at MASS MoCA, Markonish was the curator at Artspace in New Haven, CT. In addition, Markonish has also curated exhibitions for the Fuller Museum in Brockton, MA; the Main Line Art Center in Haverford, PA and the Boston Center for the Arts. Markonish has taught at University of New Haven, Stonehill College and the Rhode Island School of Design. Markonish is currently working on multiple projects at MASS MoCA, including a survey of Contemporary Canadian art as well as three permanent outdoor projects by Michael Oatman, Jane Philbrick, and Stephen Vitiello.